Author Topic: what fluid to use fro brakes and clutch  (Read 2718 times)

Peter Middleton

what fluid to use fro brakes and clutch
« on: January 12, 2013, 02:03:27 PM »
HI all
need Help, my name is Peter Middleton and i live at Howard Springs NT,  im a newbie to this site so im most likely in the wrong section.
iam about to embark on a cruise from Darwin  NT to Potsville in NSW and i need to change my clutch and brake fluid, can any one help as to what fluids i should be using?

Offline STeveo

• Legendary "1000 Club" Member
  • ST Legend
Re: what fluid to use fro brakes and clutch
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2013, 02:08:22 PM »
I use DOT 4 brake fluid in both. Any good brand should be ok, just don't let the master cylinder get low and suck air because they are a pain to bleed, particulary ABS models.

:bl11

Peter Middleton

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2013, 02:12:59 PM »
Thank you
i have a 1997  model as abs
 :thumbsup

Offline Abe

• Legendary "1000 Club" Member
  • 4D Gang Member
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2013, 02:15:35 PM »
Hi Peter,

I use one of these for the brake and clutch on the 1100 (one person operation)  $18 at Supercheap.

http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online-store/products/Vizibleed-Brake-Clutch-Bleeder-One-Man.aspx?pid=9500#Description

However, I removed that black hose piece and extended it with more hose to reach the jar on the ground.
I use a little grease around the nipple prior to attaching the hose to create an air seal.

Rear brake was spongey = changed fluid removed air bubble = great now.

Cheers
Dave
At my age " getting lucky" is remembering what I came in the room for ;)

:wht13      Cheers Dave
Member of the 4 D Gang

Offline saaz

• Supreme "2000" Club Member
  • Canberra ACT
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2013, 02:24:24 PM »