Author Topic: Another Rangetopper  (Read 3998 times)

Maverick75

Another Rangetopper
« on: June 04, 2012, 07:47:34 AM »
Hi all. Good to see other range dwellers here; I live about 20 mins north of Toowoomba. I've recently purchased my second ST11 after six years on a R12GS. My last ST had 240k on it when I sold it and still runs like a top, so while looking at upgrading my home I decided to 'downgrade my ride'. I'm mid 30's and have been around bikes all my life. I have owned a few CX's and various other makes. My goal has always been mile-munching. I am a mechanical designer and a qualified welder.

I am happy to say that after about a month of riding the ST all over the joint it's definitely not a downgrade. More of a crossgrade really. The small amount of dirt road riding I do hasn't been compromised by the ST whatsoever and the engine is just lovely after the agricultural boxer.

I've been over the bike from top to bottom and am expecting another 240k minimum from this one  :).

Here she is, an '01 ABSII. My old girl was a '93 Candy red standard.

Bravo to those who get these sites up and keep them running, putting the knowledge in the hands of the people. I have only done a few mods on the new girl yet, one of which was a near invisible heated grip install using genuine grips, which I can share if anyone's interested. Am also looking at a Penske rear shock and front spring upgrade, when I find the best option.

Offline Streak

• NR2016 Group
  • Supreme "2000" Club Member
  • Stampy Glitterballs
    • Australian ST Owners Club
Re: Another Rangetopper
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2012, 08:08:50 AM »
welcome aboard!

great to have another person on my side of the range!

we will have to catch up for a coffee  :thumb

Cheers

Streak (Graham)
Streak (Graham)
Storm Trooper
streak@ozstoc.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/OzSTOC
2010 White DL650 Strom
FarRider #667
IBA #59145
Aussie Hard Arse #63

Offline STeveo

• Legendary "1000 Club" Member
  • ST Legend