Author Topic: Power outlet install on ST1300  (Read 20775 times)

Online Shiney

  • Dave
  • Global Moderator
  • UNBELIEVABLE "5000 Posts" Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5423
  • Thanked: 1303 times
  • RTE Coordinator - Strathpine, QLD
Power outlet install on ST1300
« on: May 13, 2012, 09:22:05 AM »
So I finally got around to doing the power outlet install on my 2004 ST1300 and thought Iíd pass on how I did it :thumbs

First thing was getting the parts:

The power outlet I used is an ďAuto XS Car Socked AdaptorĒ I got from Aldi for $7



I then went to Jaycar and purchased a 10 amp blade fuse with power wire leading from it (awesome idea) and a box of connector plugs as I had run out. (Fuse $6.95, Box of plugs $3.50)



Ok now I had all the parts it was time to startÖ :runyay

Take off the seat



Undo the bolts at the top of the tank (completely remove the one on the right)
Remove the cap from the bolt located on the bottom right of the handlebars.



Remove the metal rod from the rear of the bike near the tool kit compartment.



Loosen the bolt running through the rear of the tank on both sides



Grab the metal rod, Lift the front of the tank and slide it back, then place the rod into the bolt hole of the tank and the top of the bolt on the handlebars as shown.

     

Remove the left fairing below where the seat sits exposing the fuse box.




OK Now we have a clear path we can start the actual installÖ :thumb

Empty the right fairing pocket.



Luckily there was an existing hole in the bottom of the pocket that fit the wires and saved me from having to drill a new hole



Run the wires out the bottom of the pocket.
(EDIT) cut the wires at around 20cm from the bottom of the pocket. Attach connectors to the cut ends. This way the wires can be disconnected from the side fairing allowing it to be completely removed from the bike as opposed to having a wire tethering the fairing to the bike.
*Shown below with a red and white cable*




Continue to run the wires under the frame next to the air filter box.

     

Then over the bar at the rear of the air filter box and out under the tank.



Down the other side and follow the existing wires under and along the side of the frame to the fuse box






Then replace the 10amp headlight fuse (there is one fuse for each bulb) with the fuse with power running from it.

   

(EDIT) Attach an inline fuse (10amp) to the end of the positive wire from the power outlet.
Attach connectors to the ends of the wires from the power outlet.
Bolt the negative to the frame and plug the positive (with inline fuse) to the power wire from the fuse



Then zip tie the wires periodically to hold them in place :)

Grab an old mp3 player or something to check that the unit is working >:()
All worked well for me :grin



Bike back together :thumb



Oh and I later put some Velcro strips on the back of the unit attaching it to the wall of the pocket and still allowing me to be able to move it around if needed.

All in all not bad for under $20. But :think1 I really need to clean my bike more :wink1


Cheers
Shiney
« Last Edit: July 19, 2017, 01:01:53 AM by Shiney »
My Ride: 2015 (Model) ST1300  :wht13
OzSTOC #104   STOC# 8512   IBA # 59142
Find me in The Who's Who of OzSTOC!

I like shiney things :grin
One of the Dave, Dave, Dave and Duncan crew 8)
 

Offline Gavo

  • Double STowner no longer only an 04 ST 1300A
  • Legendary Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 948
  • Thanked: 29 times
  • Hoddys Well Toodyay WA
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2012, 09:48:46 AM »
Good job  :thumbsup
Rob
Undercover HVAC Tech
All round nice guy so i believe
Also have now been told !

"We are all in it together"  Harry Tuttle.

STOC #8508
FR#601 
                  
:blu13
 

Online West Aussie Glen

  • old fart
  • RTE Coordinator
  • Supreme "2000" Club Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2195
  • Thanked: 254 times
  • Willetton, Perth
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2012, 11:38:26 AM »
Love the usb supply as well. I assume you have to be carefull to install the blade fuse the correct way or else you don't get any protection.
Glen
Safe Riding
Sold
1948 James 98cc 2 Speed, 1969 Suzuki A100-2
1970 Suzuki T250 Hustler, Honda CL100 (125cc)
Yamaha RD250C, 1985 Kawasaki GPZ250
BMW K75S, 78 Yamaha XS11
Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe, 88 GL1500, 99 SE
GL1500
In the shed
85 Kawasaki  LTD250
88 GL1500 Outfit
08 ST1300
2013 GL1800
 

Online Shiney

  • Dave
  • Global Moderator
  • UNBELIEVABLE "5000 Posts" Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5423
  • Thanked: 1303 times
  • RTE Coordinator - Strathpine, QLD
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2012, 01:08:43 PM »
Love the usb supply as well. I assume you have to be carefull to install the blade fuse the correct way or else you don't get any protection.

Yeah the usb is an nice bonus :thumb Very handy :wink1

But I don't follow the part about installing the fuse the right way :-[

The power runs through the fuse making it in essence an inline fuse for the power outlet as well as a standard fuse for one headlight, so if there are any issues the fuse will blow and cut power to the power outlet and power to one of my headlights.
If this happens to get headlight back just replace with spare fuse.

Cheers
Shiney
My Ride: 2015 (Model) ST1300  :wht13
OzSTOC #104   STOC# 8512   IBA # 59142
Find me in The Who's Who of OzSTOC!

I like shiney things :grin
One of the Dave, Dave, Dave and Duncan crew 8)
 

Online West Aussie Glen

  • old fart
  • RTE Coordinator
  • Supreme "2000" Club Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2195
  • Thanked: 254 times
  • Willetton, Perth
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2012, 01:41:46 PM »
I have not seen these but from you picture think they are like this. The wire off the fuse will be connected to one blade. The fuse is between the two blades.
Where the fuse goes, one side is power and the other side is the wire going to the headlight.
You have to make sure when you plug in your fancy fuse in that the blade with the wire connected to it goes into the side that has the headlight wire connected to it and not the power side. 
« Last Edit: May 13, 2012, 01:43:25 PM by West Aussie Glen »
Glen
Safe Riding
Sold
1948 James 98cc 2 Speed, 1969 Suzuki A100-2
1970 Suzuki T250 Hustler, Honda CL100 (125cc)
Yamaha RD250C, 1985 Kawasaki GPZ250
BMW K75S, 78 Yamaha XS11
Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe, 88 GL1500, 99 SE
GL1500
In the shed
85 Kawasaki  LTD250
88 GL1500 Outfit
08 ST1300
2013 GL1800
 

Online Brock

  • Tardis Tech
  • Global Moderator
  • UNBELIEVABLE "5000 Posts" Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7362
  • Thanked: 798 times
  • White is Best
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2012, 01:43:16 PM »
Shiney,

One side of the fuse is connected to the battery and the other to the load. If your fuse with the wire is around the wrong way, if some thing causes the fuse to blow then the aux circuits will be still live, and will have no fuse protection.

just wot he said ^
« Last Edit: May 13, 2012, 01:45:07 PM by Brock »
Brock
Asian Correspondent
2003 Honda ST1100PY



Ulysses #32829
STOC #8239
OzSToc # ??
Kinross WA
 

Online alans1100

  • 1999 ST1100A
  • RTE Coordinator
  • UNBELIEVABLE "5000 Posts" Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5605
  • Thanked: 869 times
  • Alan, Peterborough, SA
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2012, 01:58:14 PM »
It should be wired so that the power outlet has it's own inline fuse unless it has one built in.
1999 :bl11  2004 :13Candy

FarRider #921- BR15, BR17, CR1

 

Online Shiney

  • Dave
  • Global Moderator
  • UNBELIEVABLE "5000 Posts" Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5423
  • Thanked: 1303 times
  • RTE Coordinator - Strathpine, QLD
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2012, 02:30:22 PM »
I have not seen these but from you picture think they are like this. The wire off the fuse will be connected to one blade. The fuse is between the two blades.
Where the fuse goes, one side is power and the other side is the wire going to the headlight.
You have to make sure when you plug in your fancy fuse in that the blade with the wire connected to it goes into the side that has the headlight wire connected to it and not the power side. 

Shiney,

One side of the fuse is connected to the battery and the other to the load. If your fuse with the wire is around the wrong way, if some thing causes the fuse to blow then the aux circuits will be still live, and will have no fuse protection.

just wot he said ^

It should be wired so that the power outlet has it's own inline fuse unless it has one built in.

Thanks for the info guys :-++
I was just going off what the guy at Jaycar said :fp
He didn't mention anything about it needing to be one way or the other :well
and said it would act as an inline fuse... Is this correct (if around the right way)???

Anyway I'll have a look and make sure its around the right way :thumb
Thanks again for the heads up guys :-++ :-++ :-++

Cheers
Shiney
My Ride: 2015 (Model) ST1300  :wht13
OzSTOC #104   STOC# 8512   IBA # 59142
Find me in The Who's Who of OzSTOC!

I like shiney things :grin
One of the Dave, Dave, Dave and Duncan crew 8)
 

Offline Whizz

  • Legendary "1000 Club" Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1833
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Paul. Ipswich, QLD.
    • Instrumented Control Solutions Pty Ltd
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2012, 04:15:50 PM »
Shiney, This needs to be looked at from one of two directions.

Option (1):- If you insert the fuse with the wire going to the live (battery) side, then the accessories block that you are fitting is not fuse protected at all under any circumstances, although the headlight will still have a 10A fuse protecting it.

Option (2):- If you insert the fuse with the wire going to the headlight side, then both the headlight itself and the accessories block are both protected by the same 10A fuse. Now from the ST-1300 Manual it says that the standard headlight bulb is 60W on high beam (55W on low beam), and Ohms Law says that Power equals Voltage multiplied by current, or P=V x I. This transposes to I=P/V or 60/12, so the headlight draws 5A when on high beam (4.58A on low beam). This means that the maximum current you can draw from your new accessories block, with the headlight on is 5A, not as you might think 10A (from the size of the fuse).

So you need to be a little careful what you plug into these sockets because the  headlight is on all the time, day and night! Not forgetting that the current draw is cumulative, i.e. you add together all the currents required by all the accessories that you plug in at any one time to get the total current requirement. Under these circumstances it is really quite easy to pop a 10A fuse, especially as there is a significant surge current requirement when you first turn on your ignition. This means that when you turn the key the headlight appears as a dead short and draws a hefty spike of current to make the lamp glow. If you also have other stuff plugged in which also has surge currents then that is the moment when the fuse is most likely to blow. There is an old adage that says that a light bulb only blows when you turn it on and this is simply because of the surge current required to make an incandescent bulb glow white hot.

What I would suggest is;
Wire the 10A fuse with the wire to the live (battery) side.
Fit an inline fuse (10A maybe?) to the wire before it gets to the accessories block.
This gives you the best of both worlds. Your headlight protection remains unchanged and you accessories block is protected by its own fuse.

This sounds a clear as mud, but I hope it helps, if you want you can IM me and I'll explain it in more detail.

Cheers mate

Whizz
 :13Candy
Cheers,
Paul
:13Candy
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice; in practice there is!!
Red, 2004, ST 1300A
 

Online West Aussie Glen

  • old fart
  • RTE Coordinator
  • Supreme "2000" Club Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2195
  • Thanked: 254 times
  • Willetton, Perth
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2012, 04:34:40 PM »
Shiney,
If inserted the correct way it will be fine. Working on your headlight being about 55watts it will pull draw a over 4 amps so that will mean anything much over 5 amps on your new outlets with the headlight on (which they will have to be to get power at that fuse) will cause the fuse to blow. I don't see a need for another fuse unless you want to put a 5 amp fuse in the line the your new outlets which should ensure that this fuse would blow before the 10 amp fuse.

This is a short version of whizz post above. A lot depends on what sort of load you will be connectiing to the new outlets.
Re starting currents, this depends on if you will have things connected and switched on when you turn the ignition on.
Glen
Safe Riding
Sold
1948 James 98cc 2 Speed, 1969 Suzuki A100-2
1970 Suzuki T250 Hustler, Honda CL100 (125cc)
Yamaha RD250C, 1985 Kawasaki GPZ250
BMW K75S, 78 Yamaha XS11
Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe, 88 GL1500, 99 SE
GL1500
In the shed
85 Kawasaki  LTD250
88 GL1500 Outfit
08 ST1300
2013 GL1800
 

Online Brock

  • Tardis Tech
  • Global Moderator
  • UNBELIEVABLE "5000 Posts" Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7362
  • Thanked: 798 times
  • White is Best
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2012, 04:42:02 PM »
Dont foget guys, thats 55W each healight, so thats about 9amps total.

A quick check of the wiring diagram, shows a 10Amp fuse for each headlight.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2012, 04:52:00 PM by Brock »
Brock
Asian Correspondent
2003 Honda ST1100PY



Ulysses #32829
STOC #8239
OzSToc # ??
Kinross WA
 

Online West Aussie Glen

  • old fart
  • RTE Coordinator
  • Supreme "2000" Club Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2195
  • Thanked: 254 times
  • Willetton, Perth
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2012, 08:09:41 PM »
A quick check of the wiring diagram, shows a 10Amp fuse for each headlight.
[/quote]

Hence 5 amps.  :thumbsup
« Last Edit: May 13, 2012, 08:11:39 PM by West Aussie Glen »
Glen
Safe Riding
Sold
1948 James 98cc 2 Speed, 1969 Suzuki A100-2
1970 Suzuki T250 Hustler, Honda CL100 (125cc)
Yamaha RD250C, 1985 Kawasaki GPZ250
BMW K75S, 78 Yamaha XS11
Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe, 88 GL1500, 99 SE
GL1500
In the shed
85 Kawasaki  LTD250
88 GL1500 Outfit
08 ST1300
2013 GL1800
 

Online Shiney

  • Dave
  • Global Moderator
  • UNBELIEVABLE "5000 Posts" Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5423
  • Thanked: 1303 times
  • RTE Coordinator - Strathpine, QLD
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #12 on: May 13, 2012, 08:12:54 PM »
Awesome information guys :thumbs
You all know what your talking about :thumb I've just been going off what info I can find & fumbling my way through & thought I'd nailed it :fp :fp
Thankfully there is OzSTOC and the wealth of information people are willing to share :thumbsup :thumbs :thumb

What I would suggest is;
Wire the 10A fuse with the wire to the live (battery) side.
Fit an inline fuse (10A maybe?) to the wire before it gets to the accessories block.
This gives you the best of both worlds. Your headlight protection remains unchanged and you accessories block is protected by its own fuse.

This sounds a clear as mud, but I hope it helps, if you want you can IM me and I'll explain it in more detail.

Cheers mate

Whizz
 :13Candy

Whizz, I'm :think1 I'll end up going for your idea of running it on the power side and putting an inline fuse on the line :thumb
But for now I'll just run it with the headlight as the only thing I have to plug into it at the moment is my iPhone, and the Bluetooth intercom if it needs to be charged.

What do you think guys, would that be alright or would they use to much power???
And thanks again for all the help (and saving me from broken fuses :) ) I bow to your wisdom :-++ :-++ :-++
Keep it coming :thumb

Cheers
Shiney
My Ride: 2015 (Model) ST1300  :wht13
OzSTOC #104   STOC# 8512   IBA # 59142
Find me in The Who's Who of OzSTOC!

I like shiney things :grin
One of the Dave, Dave, Dave and Duncan crew 8)
 

Online West Aussie Glen

  • old fart
  • RTE Coordinator
  • Supreme "2000" Club Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2195
  • Thanked: 254 times
  • Willetton, Perth
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #13 on: May 13, 2012, 08:39:27 PM »
I doubt if either of those draw much power. Gut feeling is neither would draw more than 1 amp. But some one may have a more accurate figure.
Glen
Safe Riding
Sold
1948 James 98cc 2 Speed, 1969 Suzuki A100-2
1970 Suzuki T250 Hustler, Honda CL100 (125cc)
Yamaha RD250C, 1985 Kawasaki GPZ250
BMW K75S, 78 Yamaha XS11
Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe, 88 GL1500, 99 SE
GL1500
In the shed
85 Kawasaki  LTD250
88 GL1500 Outfit
08 ST1300
2013 GL1800
 

Online Shiney

  • Dave
  • Global Moderator
  • UNBELIEVABLE "5000 Posts" Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5423
  • Thanked: 1303 times
  • RTE Coordinator - Strathpine, QLD
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #14 on: May 13, 2012, 08:55:05 PM »
I doubt if either of those draw much power. Gut feeling is neither would draw more than 1 amp. But some one may have a more accurate figure.

Awesome :grin
Thanks again Glen, your a legend :hatwave

Cheers
Shiney
My Ride: 2015 (Model) ST1300  :wht13
OzSTOC #104   STOC# 8512   IBA # 59142
Find me in The Who's Who of OzSTOC!

I like shiney things :grin
One of the Dave, Dave, Dave and Duncan crew 8)
 

Online Shiney

  • Dave
  • Global Moderator
  • UNBELIEVABLE "5000 Posts" Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5423
  • Thanked: 1303 times
  • RTE Coordinator - Strathpine, QLD
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2013, 12:54:28 AM »
Just an update for anyone that is going to install a power outlet on their bikes :thumbs
The original post has been edited (in red) to cover adding an inline fuse (10 amp) and a little trick I found came in handy :wink1 :thumb

Cheers
Shiney
My Ride: 2015 (Model) ST1300  :wht13
OzSTOC #104   STOC# 8512   IBA # 59142
Find me in The Who's Who of OzSTOC!

I like shiney things :grin
One of the Dave, Dave, Dave and Duncan crew 8)
 

Offline Sabie

  • Riding a Blue Angel
  • Supreme "2000" Club Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2757
  • Thanked: 194 times
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #16 on: February 11, 2013, 11:11:04 AM »
Shiney, Brilliant as usual. This will be a big help as I'm in the process of powering my Powerlet outlet in the new MCL Riser.
(Sabie pronounced Sab bee)

2004 Honda ST1300 Blue (Current)
2007 Yamaha VStar XVS 650 Classic (Current)
2011 Suzuki Boulevard C50T VL 800
2007 Yamaha XV 250 Virago
1980 CX500 Red
1980 CX500 Black
1979 CX500 Blue
1981 Honda XL 500s
1982 Yamaha XZ 550
1981 Honda XL 250s
1974 Honda Elsinore MT 250
 

Offline Sabie

  • Riding a Blue Angel
  • Supreme "2000" Club Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2757
  • Thanked: 194 times
(Sabie pronounced Sab bee)

2004 Honda ST1300 Blue (Current)
2007 Yamaha VStar XVS 650 Classic (Current)
2011 Suzuki Boulevard C50T VL 800
2007 Yamaha XV 250 Virago
1980 CX500 Red
1980 CX500 Black
1979 CX500 Blue
1981 Honda XL 500s
1982 Yamaha XZ 550
1981 Honda XL 250s
1974 Honda Elsinore MT 250
 

Offline Shaun

  • Professor
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Ride and Teach
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #18 on: February 17, 2013, 07:01:27 AM »
Great write-up Shiney, thanks to everyone else for rockin the physics!  :rockon

I will generally only piggy back onto existing circuits when the current requirements are very low for the add-on (gear indicator, voltmeter, speedo etc). Anything that will in all likelihood draw bigger currents (and usb ports are surprisingly high, running at 5V and around 5A max per port for charge (up to 1A general (signal)), this is why there are USB coffee warmers), I will run a new line straight from the battery (appropriately fused). My charger bay is in this category.

Edit: mistyped current drawn
« Last Edit: February 17, 2013, 07:14:18 AM by Shaun »
:bl11 Blue 2001 ST1100 ABS Pan European (RIPieces) :(
New STeed: 2006 6th Gen VFR800Fi Sports Tourer
 

Online Shiney

  • Dave
  • Global Moderator
  • UNBELIEVABLE "5000 Posts" Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5423
  • Thanked: 1303 times
  • RTE Coordinator - Strathpine, QLD
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #19 on: February 17, 2013, 10:07:41 AM »
Hi Shiney

I'm putting one of these in instead.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NEW-4-PORT-SLIM-COMPACT-USB-MULTI-HUB-EXPANSION-SPLITTER-/300828787869?pt=AU_CablesConnectors&hash=item460acb049d


Hi Sabie

That looks like an awesome idea :-++ make sure to let us know how it performs :thumb


Great write-up Shiney, thanks to everyone else for rockin the physics!  :rockon

I will generally only piggy back onto existing circuits when the current requirements are very low for the add-on (gear indicator, voltmeter, speedo etc). Anything that will in all likelihood draw bigger currents (and usb ports are surprisingly high, running at 5V and around 5A max per port for charge (up to 1A general (signal)), this is why there are USB coffee warmers), I will run a new line straight from the battery (appropriately fused). My charger bay is in this category.

Edit: mistyped current drawn


Thanks Shaun :hatwave
Itís a good point you make about current draw :-++ but as Iím not powering much for me this setup should work well :wink1

Cheers
Shiney
My Ride: 2015 (Model) ST1300  :wht13
OzSTOC #104   STOC# 8512   IBA # 59142
Find me in The Who's Who of OzSTOC!

I like shiney things :grin
One of the Dave, Dave, Dave and Duncan crew 8)
 

Online Brock

  • Tardis Tech
  • Global Moderator
  • UNBELIEVABLE "5000 Posts" Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7362
  • Thanked: 798 times
  • White is Best
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #20 on: February 17, 2013, 11:15:55 AM »
Thats not a bad idea Sabie, but just a point to consider. Some USB charged items go into mass storage mode when connected to a USB powersource, IE Garmin (and other) GPSs Drift cams and so on. So make sure that you can also use cig power plugs for those items
Brock
Asian Correspondent
2003 Honda ST1100PY



Ulysses #32829
STOC #8239
OzSToc # ??
Kinross WA
 

Offline Marcus

  • Insert amusing quip here...
  • RTE Coordinator
  • Supreme "2000" Club Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2890
  • Thanked: 186 times
  • It says Stringo on my shirt
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #21 on: February 17, 2013, 12:43:12 PM »
Excellent write up, Thanks for sharing
 

Online Gadget

  • Supreme "2000" Club Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4494
  • Thanked: 1333 times
  • Just Drivin'
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #22 on: February 17, 2013, 01:27:13 PM »
Great write up Shiney!    :rockon

I love the photos on the tank manipulation, that clears up a lot for me.  Next weekend I think I'll take another look at my wiring and do a bit of re-routing of the wiring to my accessory block in my left-hand pocket.  :grin  Should look invisible when I finish.

Whizz, you nailed it.  As an Electronics Technician myself, I don't think I could have said it better. :hatwave

Shiney, I'm glad you took Whizz's advice about the separate fuse. Nothing worse then only having half your lights late at night on the way home after a days work.  :thumbsup

Again, well done!  I know you'll enjoy the benefits.  (Just remember to take the appropriate charging leads with you, not as I did and leave the lead at home in the Garage.)  :fp
Cheers,
Gary
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ :blu13left
Life's too short to be miserable! So enjoy! :)
OzSTOC #257
FarRider #810
IBA #59140
http://ozstoc.com/index.php?topic=2651.msg27700#msg27700
Mob: 04 2448 3555
 

Online Shiney

  • Dave
  • Global Moderator
  • UNBELIEVABLE "5000 Posts" Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5423
  • Thanked: 1303 times
  • RTE Coordinator - Strathpine, QLD
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #23 on: February 17, 2013, 02:03:54 PM »
Thanks Gadget and Marcus :grin :-++
Since people like the guides Iíll keep doing them (then updating them when Iím told I stuffed up something :wink1)

Cheers
Shiney
My Ride: 2015 (Model) ST1300  :wht13
OzSTOC #104   STOC# 8512   IBA # 59142
Find me in The Who's Who of OzSTOC!

I like shiney things :grin
One of the Dave, Dave, Dave and Duncan crew 8)
 

Online Gadget

  • Supreme "2000" Club Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4494
  • Thanked: 1333 times
  • Just Drivin'
Re: Power outlet install on ST1300
« Reply #24 on: February 23, 2013, 05:37:21 PM »
Inspired by Shiney's most excellent write-up and how-to, I ventured into re-wiring my switched accessory socket in the left hand pocket on my ST1300.

** Note ** The sockets required for the bolts on the tank are 8 mm for the front two bolts and 10 mm for the rear bolt and nut.

I had already fitted this before but had not been 100% happy with the layout as the wires were running over the lip and into the pocket and were visible to the whole world and nothing had been cable-tied in place.

Mine is wired to an in-line fuse directly connected to the battery which runs my Stebel Horn and the accessory socket, so I had ensured it was switched for protection.  My accessory device also has an in-line 10 Amp fuse so it's well protected.  I chose this option because it allows me to charge my phone whilst the keys to the bike are in my pocket.  I can also charge the bluetooth in the helmet.

So the wiring I had done previously looked like this on the battery side.  Note that I've left a loop of cable so there is some to play with if things need to be changed later.



Now I know how to lift the tank (lucky I did as I discovered the rear bolt under the seat was loose  :eek) I was able to run the cable discreetly under the tank next to the air filter and loosely cable tie in place.



I chose to drill a hole in the side of the pocket near the top as an entry hole and to place the switch outside of the pocket just below the lid.  So this is the method I use to choose the correct sized drill bit to do the job. 



As I was drilling into plastic I used the good old hand-drill to ensure a good steady pace and least opportunity for catastrophe.  8)  It can be seen on the floor in the next two photos (Doh!).

For the switch I used a 12 mm spade bit which gave a nice clean hole.

I fitted the switch (taking photo's of the back of it before hand so when it can time to connect the wires I would know what went where.  As I hadn't taken the fairing off and was confident there was enough room to get my fingers to the back of the switch, this was important. It was quite fiddly, and took almost all my patience, but in the end my perseverance (read stubbornness) paid off.  :grin

So after the switch and socket are in place this is the almost finished look.



And this is just before putting the tank and all the plastic back in place.



Now I'm happy! I can have the charger in the pocket or remove it if needed. :thumb

Thanks for the inspiration and tips Shiney, it made it a whole lot easier.   :-++

 
Cheers,
Gary
 :blu13left
Cheers,
Gary
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ :blu13left
Life's too short to be miserable! So enjoy! :)
OzSTOC #257
FarRider #810
IBA #59140
http://ozstoc.com/index.php?topic=2651.msg27700#msg27700
Mob: 04 2448 3555