Honda ST1300 Section > "How To..." Instructions and Pics for Regular Maintenance Jobs specific to the ST1300...

Attaching a Quadlock bike mount to the ST1300

(1/2) > >>

CallMeSteve:
i’ll start by saying that I’m no mechanical genius and there is no rocket-science here. Once you have all the bits in your hand it’s quite obvious but I thought this little article might be instructive for anyone wondering about using a quadlock on an ST1300.

For Christmas I received a quadlock case for my iPhone. It’s a good case, solid but minimalist, with the quadlock mount built into the back of it. 

First additional purchase was the car mount for the Falcon, all works well. Click-on, click-off.

The obvious next project was to mount it to the steed. Quadlock does make motorcycle mounts but they are designed to attach to either a tubular handlebar or a mirror stalk. Of course real touring bikes don’t have either of these, and I figured that a RAM mount attached to the clutch reservoir was what I wanted to use. And so began a little project to convert the bar-mount quadlock to RAM mount.

Here is the original product prior to the warranty being voided:

Rip off the rubber coating to reveal the innards. It’s held together with an M5 bolt and nut.

First, cut off the tubular part of the mount using a hacksaw, chainsaw, bread knife or your preferred weapon of mass destruction:

RAM makes a ball with an attached M6 thread so I grabbed some M6 x 30mm from Bunnings, drilled out the quadlock slightly to take the M6 bolt and re-assembled as shown:

On goes the RAM ball with an extra M6 nut and a good dose of Locktite.