Author Topic: A Kiwi's Lap Around The Big Country  (Read 2922 times)

Offline RGardner

• Rob NZ
  • RTE Coordinator
  • ST1300 ABS
A Kiwi's Lap Around The Big Country
« on: June 25, 2012, 05:43:15 PM »
I’m a newbie to Ozstoc and reside in the cooler climates of NZ but I figure I can count as a pseudo-Ozstocker having lived over your way for 20 years during which time I picked up an Aussie wife and had 3 Aussie kids. I’ve also just completed a 27,000km ride in and about your fine land in April-May this year on my 2011 ST 1300ABS which is the reason for this post…

Shipping the bike across the Tasman under ‘carnet de passages’ was remarkable easy. I must say all praise be to Mainfreight as I was able to go from the early morning Wellington-Sydney flight straight to my waiting bike at Mainfreight's Botany depot. After a brief unpack I had the wind in my face riding south through Royal National Park by 11.00am.

I chose to camp at most of my overnighter locations but was able to stay (read sponge off) old acquaintances and relatives who just happened to live at strategic locations along the planned route. The tent I bought across with me had occasion to fall off the back of the bike on the second day and subsequently got run over by a passing truck. That required a quick stopover at the Kathmandu sales to purchase a new bigger and brighter one which, I’m happy to say, I can now put up and pack away pretty much while sleepwalking.